The Ecumenical Leaders Group (ELG) is made up of the senior leaders (bishops and executives) of various Christian faith communities in Maryland – United Methodist, Episcopal, Lutheran, Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, United Church of Christ, and the Religious Society of Friends.

CMEC staffs and promotes the gathering of the denominational leaders in Central Maryland for the purpose of promoting dialogue among the leadership and to support positions that are consistent with the teachings of Jesus.

Past Actions in conjunction with the Central Maryland Ecumencial Council:

  • Supported passage of the Clean Energy Jobs Act in 2021.
  • Successfully repealed the Death Penalty in Maryland.
  • Supported passage of the Dream Act.
  • Supported passage of the Gun Safety Act in 2013.

The Ecumenical Leaders Group meets monthly on Zoom or at the Diocesan Center of the Episcopal Diocese of Maryland, 4 E. University Parkway, Baltimore, MD.

ELG Membership

  • The Rev. William J. Gohl, Jr.
    Bishop Delaware-Maryland Synod
    Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
  • The Right Rev. Eugene Taylor Sutton
    Bishop of Maryland
    Episcopal Diocese of Maryland
  • The Most Rev. Denis J. Madden
    Auxiliary Bishop of Baltimore
    Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Baltimore
  • The Rev. Freeman L Palmer
    Conference Minister, Central Atlantic Conference
    United Church of Christ (UCC)
  • The Rev. LaTrelle Miller Easterling
    Bishop, Baltimore-Washington Conference
    United Methodist Church (UMC)
  • The Right Rev. Robert W. Ihloff
    Assisting Bishop
    Episcopal Diocese of Maryland
  • The Rev. Wanda Bynum Duckett
    District Superintendent
    Baltimore/Washington Conference
    United Methodist Church (UMC)
  • The Rev. Dellyne Hinton
    Central Maryland Ecumenical Council
  • The Rev. Jacqueline E. Taylor
    General Presbyter
    The Baltimore Presbytery